Cebu Top 10 Universities

At the present time Cebu city large Universities with a lot of branches in the City that offer various courses.

1.   University of San Carlos

Has 5 compuses around the metropolitan area. The University of San Carlos is a Catholic Educational Institution administered since 1935 by Society of Devine Word (SVD) missionaries and became University since 1948, the offer complete education package from kindergarten,  including a Montessori academy, to graduate school.

2.  The University of the Philippines

Cebu –  an independent unit of the University of the Philippines system located in Cebu City, the capital city of Cebu in the Philippines. It was founded on May 3, 1918, ten years after the founding of UP in 1908. The new UP Cebu SRP campus features the UP Professional Schools which offers degree programs such as Master of Business Administration, Master of Science in Computer Science, Master of Education and Master of Science in Environmental Studies.

3.  University of San Jose – Recoletos

Founded in 1947 by the Order of Augustinian Recollects, then Colegio de San Jose-Recoletos developed from a small institution of learning to one of the excellent schools in the country.. USJ-RJ is not an average University because life feels a little different in the campus, students have cultural, professional, and spiritual opportunities that transform the traditional college experience.

4.  Cebu Normal University

Established as provincial normal school  1902 and a branch of the Philippine Normal School  and became independent as institution on 1924, later on became chartered college in the year 1976 and finally became University in 1998. The main campus is located at  Osmeña Boulevard, Cebu City and two extension campuses in Medellin and Balamban.

5.  Cebu Doctors’ University

has all aspects in medical study composite. They started to offer nuclear medicine services in 1990. they also first aquire acquire a 128 slice MSC in 2006. It was a private stock corporation established in 1972  for the purpose of creating that medium where physicians and other related health and medical science practitioners can allow their competent skills and learning for the care of the sick, in particular, and for preservation and improvement of health and general.

6.  University of Cebu

is a premier educational institution in the Visayas region, founded in 1964 by Atty. Augusto W. Go as an institution of higher learning committed to authentic education. UC was initially established as Cebu College of Commerce and it offered the degrees of Bachelor of Science in Commerce and Associate in Secretarial Science during its the first few years. after 7 years the institution opened more courses including Education, Liberal Arts, Customs, and Criminology. CCC then changed its name in 1972,


7.  Cebu Institute of Technology

University – In 1946 during the World War  II – Dr. Nicolas G. Escario, Sr. founded the present prestigious institution of learning in Cebu, the Cebu Institute of Technology – University formerly Cebu Institute of Technology. Dr. Escario’s initiative, and in collaboration with three illustrious Cebuano technocrats: Engr. Fidel C. Dagani, Engr. Amancio A. Alcordo and Engr. Jose A. Cavan. It offered the following degree programs: Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Architecture and Vocational programs. In tune with the objective of the higher education to answer the needs of the time and to complement the technical programs offered, the first non-technical program offered was the Liberal Arts in 1947, Pharmacy and Junior Normal programs in 1948 and Education in 1949. The Vocational department was phased out in 1951 while the College of Commerce was opened in the same year. Two years later, in 1953, the Sanitary Engineering department started. To meet the demands of the growing society, other programs were offered such as Pre-medicine in 1957 and Secretarial in 1958.

8.  Southwestern University

This is a private University which founded by a two Pharmacists, on 1946 they named it Southern college then eventually became a University on December 11, 1959 with three campuses located in Metro Cebu.

9.   St. Theresa’s College

The Missionary Sisters of the Immaculate Heart of Mary (ICM) on June 1, 1933 founded this Catholic institution of learning to show gesture of the invitation of Msgr. Gabriel Reyes, then Archbishop of Cebu, the school offers all levels of instruction for  girls from preparatory to college.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.